CMMI : Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process level improvement training and appraisal program. Administered by the CMMI Institute, a subsidiary of ISACA, it was developed at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU).

Originally CMMI addresses three areas of interest:

Product and service development – CMMI for Development [CMMI-DEV]
Service establishment, management – CMMI for Services [CMMI-SVC]
Product and service acquisition – CMMI for Acquisition [CMMI-ACQ]

Maturity levels for services

The process areas below and their maturity levels are listed for the CMMI for services model:

Maturity Level 2 – Managed
Maturity Level 3 – Defined
Maturity Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed
Maturity Level 5 – Optimizing